Buchholz High math team wins 14th national title

Buchholz math team in Washington, D.C.
The Buchholz math team claimed its 14th national title and earned a Mu Alpha Theta Convention record 304 trophies in last week's championship held in Alexandria, Virginia. (Courtesy of Jennifer Frazer)
Courtesy of Jennifer Frazer

The Buchholz High School (BHS) math team earned its 14th national championship at the 2022 Mu Alpha Theta Convention held in Alexandria, Virginia, last week. 

According to an Alachua County Public Schools (ACPS) press release, Buchholz claimed the title scoring 7,157 total points. Runner-up American Heritage-Broward tallied 6,964 points. Teams earn points based on their members’ performance in both team and individual categories that cover advanced topics such as Analytic Geometry, Logs and Exponents, Open Probability and Combinatorics, and Calculus. 

BHS won a total of 304 trophies—both a school and a Mu Alpha Theta competition record— with many of the team members bringing home first-place awards. 

Become A Member

Mainstreet does not have a paywall, but pavement-pounding journalism is not free. Join your neighbors who make this vital work possible.

Coach and Buchholz math teacher Will Frazer said the team got off to a poor start on the first day of the competition.

“I think we had a lot of complacency,” he said. “We had a team meeting that night and after that everyone really elevated their attitude and focus and we kicked it into high gear.”

The older team members in the Calculus/Mu division performed as well or better than any group he’s ever had on the team, Frazer said. 

The Buchholz team earned a spot in the national competition after winning its 15th Florida championship in April. BHS has now won 14 out of the last 15 national championships and the team’s win came just a day after an article in the Wall Street Journal chronicled the success of the Buchholz math team and its outreach to younger students under Frazer’s leadership. 

Members of the Buchholz math team at 2022 Mu Alpha Theta Convention
Courtesy of Jennifer Frazer Members of the Buchholz math team at 2022 Mu Alpha Theta Convention.

The Buchholz students earning first place awards at the national competition include:

Sweepstakes (Relay): Kevin He, Hailey Lin, and Eileen Lai

Poster–Alpha Division: Katie He, Andrew Xing, Philip Matchev, and Thomas Wu; Mu Division: Jake Frazer, Kevin He, Samuel Kim, and Nicholas Dang

Vijay Hans-Theta Logs and Exponents

Vijay Hans-Theta Gemini

Ben Zhang-Theta Geometry

Ronald Zhang-Theta Circumference Perimeter Area and Volume

Katie He-Alpha Sequence and Series

Katie He-Alpha Complex Numbers

Katie He-Alpha Analytic Geometry

Hailey Lin-Alpha Gemini

Philip Matchev-Alpha Monumental Math

Thomas Wu-Alpha Equations and Inequalities

Andrew Xing-Alpha Trigonometry

Andrew Xing-Open Mental Math

Andrew Xing-Alpha Ciphering

Jake Frazer-Mu Integration

Jake Frazer-Mu Sequence and Series

Jake Frazer-Mu Ciphering

Jake Frazer-Mu composite

Jake Frazer-Mu Comic Sans

Terrence Han-Open History of Math

Kevin He-Mu Individual

Kevin He-Mu BC Calculus

Alan Qiu-Open Comprehensive

Tucker Shea-Open Probability and Combinatorics

Daniel Wang-Open Physics

Jeffrey Xue and Keen Zhang-Open Gemini

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments