Florida Dairy Farmers announce Mr. Basketball

Williston's Jim Ervin (left) finished fifth in Coach of the Year voting and Hawthorne's C.J. Ingram was seventh in Player of the Year voting.
Photos by C.J. Gish

Cameron Boozer, a sophomore from Christopher Columbus High School in Miami, has been named the 2023 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Basketball in a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school basketball coaches and media representatives.

The 6-9 forward, who earlier this month was named the Class 7A Player-of-the-Year, averaged 21.1 points, 10.4 rebounds, 3.9 assists, 1.9 blocks and 1.3 steals per game in leading his team to a 26-4 record and its second straight Class 7A state championship.

Boozer became only the second sophomore in the 41-year history of the award to be named Florida Mr. Basketball, joining Joel Berry II of Lake Highland Prep (Orlando), who is the only three-time winner of the award (2012-14).

Get The Latest News

Don't miss our top stories every weekday in your inbox.

In Article Newsletter Form

Hawthorne’s C.J. Ingram, who was named the Florida Dairy Farmers Class 1A Player of the Year, finished seventh in the voting.

Ingram helped lead the Hornets back to the state semifinals by averaging 21.6 points, 8.3 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 3.3 steals per game.

Meanwhile, Gaston Rodriguez of Belen Jesuit Preparatory School has been named the 2023 Florida Dairy Farmers Boys’ Basketball Coach of the Year.

Rodriguez led his team to a 28-4 record and the Class 5A state championship, the program’s first state title. In seven years at Belen Jesuit, he has compiled a 128-64 record, and he is the first coach to win Florida boys’ basketball titles at three different schools (Champagnat Catholic-2000 and Coral Reef-2009).

Rodriguez who was selected as the Class 5A Coach of the Year in a previous round of voting, finished with 13 first-place votes and 177 points to win the overall award.

Williston’s Jim Ervin, the Class 1A Coach of the Year, finished fifth in the voting after leading the Red Devils (25-7) to their first boys basketball state title in program history.

NOTE: The Mr. Basketball Award was sponsored by Florida Sports News, Inc., from 1983 to 1992

Past Mr. Basketball Winners:

1983 - Frank Ford, Kissimmee Osceola

1984 - Vernon Maxwell, Gainesville Buchholz

1985 - Toney Mack, Brandon

1986 - Chris Corchiani, Hialeah Miami Lakes

1987 - Chris Corchiani, Hialeah Miami Lakes

1988 - Johnny Walker, Quincy Shanks

1989 - Douglas Edwards, Miami Senior

1990 - Clifford Rozier, Bradenton Southeast

1991 - Steve Edwards, Miami Senior

1992 - Steve Edwards, Miami Senior

1993 - James Collins, Jacksonville Jackson

1994 - LeRon Williams, Bradenton Southeast

1995 - Vince Carter, Daytona Beach Mainland

1996 - Luke Barnes, South Miami

1997 - Jason Pryor, Fort Walton Beach

1998 - Teddy Dupay, Cape Coral Mariner

1999 – Casey Sanders, Tampa Prep

2000 - Orien Greene, Gainesville

2001- Adrian McPherson, Bradenton Southeast

2002 - Amare Stoudemire, Orlando Cypress Creek

2003 – Chris Richard, Lakeland Kathleen

2004 – Darius Washington, Orlando Edgewater

2005 – Keith Brumbaugh, Deland

2006 – Nick Calathes, Winter Park Lake Howell

2007 – Nick Calathes, Winter Park Lake Howell

2008 – Ray Shipman, Miami Monsignor Pace

2009 – Brandon Knight, Ft. Lauderdale Pine Crest

2010 – Brandon Knight, Ft. Lauderdale Pine Crest

2011 – Austin Rivers, Winter Park

2012 – Joel Berry II, Orlando Lake Highland Preparatory

2013 – Joel Berry II, Orlando Lake Highland Preparatory

2014 – Joel Berry II, Orlando Lake Highland Preparatory

2015 – Antonio Blakeney, Orlando Oak Ridge

2016 – Tony Bradley, Bartow

2017 – Kevin Knox, Tampa Catholic

2018 – Vernon Carey, Jr., NSU University School

2019 – Vernon Carey, Jr., NSU University School

2020 – Isaiah Adams, Jacksonville Paxon School

2021 – Dallan “Deebo” Coleman, Callahan West Nassau

2022 – Brice Sensabaugh, Orlando Lake Highland Prep

Past Boys’ Basketball Coaching Winners:

1993 – Bernard Wilkes, Jacksonville Ribault

1994 – John Ellerbee, Malone

1995 – Bob Carroll, Bradenton Southeast

1996 – Wade Edmond, Pompano Beach Blanche Ely

1997 – Joey Pons, Fort Walton Beach

1998 – Bruce Rosebrock, Jacksonville Wolfson

1999 – Vernon Eppinette, Port St. Joe

2000 – Anthony Long, Gainesville

2001 – Mark Rickman, Orlando Boone

2002 – Ricky McCullough, Chipley

2003 – Mark Lieberman, Miami Pace

2004 – Mike Gaudy, Cocoa Beach

2005 – Danny Wright, Lakewood

2006 – Matt Hixenbaugh, Winter Park

2007 – Steve Kohn, Winter Park Lake Howell

2008 – Lawton Williams III, Miami Norland

2009 – Kelly Beckham, Gainesville

2010 – Eli Bryant, Tallahassee Rickards

2011 – Fred Ross, Palm Beach Gardens Dwyer

2012 – Billy Washington, Lake Wales

2013 – Melvin Randall, Pompano Beach Blanche Ely

2014 -  Ed Kershner, Oviedo

2015 – Melvin Randall, Pompano Beach Blanche Ely

2016 – Shane Whitsett, Poinciana

2017 – Darryl Burrows, Dillard

2018 – Sean Campbell, Leesburg

2019 – Greg Watson, Crestview

2020 – Terrence McGriff, Bartow

2021 – Terrence McGriff, Bartow

2022 – John Leon, Stuart Martin County

Enjoying our local sports coverage? Get Mike Ridaught's twice weekly sports newsletter in your inbox.
Sports Newsletter Form
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments