4 local mayors receive Home Rule Hero award

The Florida League of Cities (FLC) released its list of Home Rule Hero award winners for 2022, and several local mayors and commissioners earned recognition.

“[The awardees] worked tirelessly throughout the legislative session to promote local voices making local choices, protect the Home Rule powers of Florida’s municipalities and advance the League’s legislative agenda,” FLC said on its website.

The league selected several North Central Florida leaders for the award including, Newberry Mayor Jordan Marlowe, Alachua Mayor Gib Coerper, Hawthorne Commissioner Matt Surrency, Starke Mayor Janice Mortimer, Cross City Mayor Kenneth Lee and Cross City Vice Mayor Jovante Teague.

Become A Member

Mainstreet does not have a paywall, but pavement-pounding journalism is not free. Join your neighbors who make this vital work possible.

“I am so honored to be recognized by the Florida League of Cities,” Marlowe told Mainstreet Daily News in a texted statement. “I believe it is a sacred duty to fight for our residents, and our ability to keep power close to them and make decisions at the local level is at the forefront of that fight!”

FLC entered its 100th year as an organization and works to promote self-government.

“We had a record number of Home Rule Heroes this year, which shows the dedication and impact of local officials on behalf of their residents and businesses in protecting local decision-making,” Casey Cook, FLC director of legislative affairs, said in a statement.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments