Deric Fabian of North Marion named Mr. Baseball

On Thursday, Deric Fabian of North Marion (Citra) was named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2021 Mr. Baseball following a final round of voting by a statewide panel of high school baseball coaches and media representatives.

The senior shortstop helped lead the Colts (21-9) to a state runner-up finish with a .462 batting average, eight doubles, five triples, 13 home runs, 38 runs scored and 52 RBI.

“We could not be more excited that Deric has been announced as the 2021 Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Baseball,” said North Marion baseball coach and athletic director Dale Hall. “He has worked hard to put himself in this position.”

Become A Member

Mainstreet does not have a paywall, but pavement-pounding journalism is not free. Join your neighbors who make this vital work possible.

Fabian, a University of Florida signee and the Class 4A Player of the Year, beat senior pitcher and Class 7A Player of the Year Sean Hermann of Durant (Plant City) by 17 total points (118-101). Class 3A POY Isaac Sewell of The First Academy (Orlando) finished third.

North Marion shortstop Deric Fabian

“It was an incredible list of players to pick from and we are very thankful that Deric won this prestigious award,” Hall said. “He’s a great player, great teammate, and a great person. He will represent this award well.”

Fabian becomes the first player from Marion County to win the prestigious award.

“This is a very proud moment for Deric and North Marion Baseball,” Hall said. “To have a Colt win Mr. Baseball is such an honor. It’s a huge accomplishment for him and we are so incredibly proud.”

Justen Crews and Luke Ridley of Newberry, the Co-Class 1A Players of the Year, finished sixth and seventh, respectively, in the voting.

Meanwhile, Newberry coach Mike Spina finished fifth in the voting for the overall Coach of the Year.

Spina was previously named the Class 1A Coach of the Year after the Panthers won their final 19 games and won the Class 1A state championship. In four years at Newberry Spina has posted a 63-25 record.

Todd Fitz-Gerald of Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School (Parkland) was named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2021 Baseball Coach of the Year after guiding the Eagles to a 28-2 record and the Class 7A state championship. 

Here are the final voting results and past winners for Mr. Baseball and Coach of the Year:

2021 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis)

Player                                    Total Points   1st-Place Votes

Deric Fabian, North Marion              118                    8

Sean Hermann, Durant                    101                    4

Isaac Sewell, The First Academy       85                     7

Cody Carwile, Fleming Island            75                     1

Andrew Ildefonso, Arch. McCarthy    32                      0

Justen Crews, Newberry                    12                      0

Luke Ridley, Newberry                       10                     0

Logan Tribble, Out-of-Door Academy  7                      0


Past Mr. Baseball Winners:

1993 – Alex Rodriguez, Miami Westminster

1994 – Doug Million, Sarasota

1995 – Doug Blosser, Sarasota

1996 – Nick Stocks, Tampa Jesuit

1997 – Geoff Geotz, Tampa Jesuit

1998 – Felipe Lopez, Lake Brantley

1999 – Bobby Bradley, Wellington

2000 – Tony Richie, Bishop Kenny

2001 – Casey Kotchman, Seminole

2002 – Edgar Ramirez, Miami Southridge

2003 – James Houser, Sarasota

2004 – Warren McFadden, Davie Nova

2005 – Andrew McCutchen, Fort Meade

2006 – Max Sapp, Orlando Bishop Moore

2007 – Michael Main, Deland

2008 – Casey Kelly, Sarasota

2009 – Patrick Schuster, New Port Richey Mitchell

2010 – C. T. Bradford, Pace

2011 – Jose Fernandez, Tampa Alonso

2012 – Lance McCullers, Jr., Tampa Jesuit

2013 – Tyler Danish, Plant City

2014 – Brian Gonzalez, Archbishop McCarthy

2015 – Dillon Brown, Mosley

2016—Bo Bichette, Lakewood

2017—Logan Allen, Orange City University

2018 – Caleb Roberts, St. Thomas Aquinas       

2019 – Parker Messick, Plant City

2021 FINAL VOTING RESULTS: (Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis)

Coach                                          Total Points    1st-Place Votes

Todd Fitz-Gerald, Stoneman Douglas  135                     9

Jon Hudson, Mosley                              82                      1

Scott Grove, The First Academy          73                      4

Kris Wilken, Bloomingdale                  53                      2

Mike Spina, Newberry                          40                      1

Brian Campbell, North Broward Prep   30                      2

Mike Mathews, Out-of-Door Academy  27                      1

Past Baseball Coach Winners:

1993 – Clyde Metcalf, Sarasota

1994 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit

1995 – John Carpenter, Lakeland Santa Fe

1996 – Rich Hoffman, Miami Westminster

1997 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit

1998 – Howard May, Terry Parker

1999 – Scott Benedict, Wellington

2000 – Bob West, Bishop Kenny

2001 – Fred Burnside, Miami Southridge

2002 – Fred Burnside, Miami Southridge

2003 – John Crumbley, Tampa Jesuit

2004 – Pat McQuaid, Davie Nova

2005 – Ralph Henriquez, Key West

2006 – Scott Benedict, Palm Beach Central

2007 – Dave Wheeler, Orlando Bishop Moore

2008 – Tom Hilbert, Dunedin

2009 – Rick Turner, Naples

2010 – Charlie Warner, Pace

2011 – Landy Faedo, Tampa Alonso

2012 – Johnny Goodrich, Spruce Creek

2013 – Richard Labounty, Pensacola Catholic

2014 – Fred Burnside, South Dade

2015 – Craig Faulkner, Venice

2016—Todd Fitz-Gerald, Douglas

2017—Greg Olsen, Calvary Christian

2018 – Troy Cameron, St. Thomas Aquinas

2019 – Michael Fryrear, Plant City

Enjoying our local sports coverage? Get Mike Ridaught's twice weekly sports newsletter in your inbox.
Sports Newsletter Form
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments