Final voting underway for Mr. Baseball

The deadline for the Florida Dairy Farmers Mr. Baseball and Coach of the Year voting was Tuesday.

On Thursday, we will find out who the best overall baseball player in the Sunshine State was, including the top coach.

We at least know the final candidates and there are a few from this area.

Become A Member

Mainstreet does not have a paywall, but pavement-pounding journalism is not free. Join your neighbors who make this vital work possible.

Surprisingly, we had Co-Class 1A Players of the Year and they were both from Newberry.

Seniors Justen Crews and Luke Ridley helped lead the Panthers (25-1) to their first state baseball title in program history.

Crews had a .584 batting average, 11 doubles, six home runs, 46 runs scored and 29 runs batted in. He had a 3-0 record with a 2.33 ERA and 35 strikeouts in 24 innings pitched.

Ridley had a 7-0 record and a 1.02 ERA. He had 110 strikeouts in 55 innings pitched. Ridley batted .367 with 29 runs scored and 26 runs batted in.

Newberry coach Mike Spina was the Class 1A Coach of the Year after the Panthers won their final 19 games and the Class 1A state title. In four years at Newberry Spina has posted a 63-25 record.

Here are the other finalists from the Florida Dairy Farmers. The two overall winners will be announced following a final round of balloting by coaches and media.

Following are the 2021 Mr. Baseball Award finalists:

Sean Hermann, Senior, Pitcher, Durant, Class 7A Player of the Year

Helped his squad to a 22-6 regular-season record and a spot in the Final Four with a 9-0 record and an 0.36 ERA.

He had 135 strikeouts and only 13 walks in 78 innings pitched. Signed with the University of South Florida.

Cody Carwile, Senior, Pitcher, Fleming Island, Class 6A Player of the Year

Helped his team to a 25-6 record and a state runnerup finish with an 11-0 record and an 0.77 ERA. He had 121 strikeouts in 73 innings pitched. Signed with Georgia Tech University.

Andrew Ildefonso, Sophomore, Pitcher, Archbishop McCarthy, Class 5A Player of the Year

Helped his squad to a 22-9 record and a state runnerup finish with a 10-1 record and a 1.32 ERA. He had 78

strikeouts in 64 innings pitched. He also had a .365 batting average with 11 doubles and 16 RBI.

Deric Fabian, Senior, Shortstop, North Marion, Class 4A Player of the Year

Helped his team to a 21-9 record and a state runnerup finish with a .462 batting average, eight doubles, five triples,

13 home runs, 38 runs scored and 52 runs batted in. Signed with the University of Florida.

Isaac Sewell, Junior, Pitcher, The First Academy, Class 3A Player of the Year

Helped his team to a 31-1 record and the Class 3A state championship with a 11-0 record and a 1.32 ERA. He had

93 strikeouts in 74 innings pitched. He has committed to Virginia Tech University.

Logan Tribble, Junior, Outfielder, Out-of-Door Academy, Class 2A Player of the Year

Helped his team to a 24-3 record and the Class 2A state title with a .453 batting average, nine doubles, five triples,

two home runs, 34 runs scored and 24 runs batted in.

Following are the 2021 Baseball Coach of the Year finalists:

Todd Fitz-Gerald, Stoneman Douglas, Class 7A Coach of the Year

Led his squad to a 28-2 record and the Class 7A state title. In 10 years at Stoneman Douglas he has posted a 196-53

record with two state titles (2016 and 2021). His career record of 446-119 includes a 10-year stint at Plantation

American Heritage where he won a state tile (2008) and added two other Final Four appearances (2002 and 2009).

Kris Wilken, Bloomingdale, Class 6A Coach of the Year

Led his team to a 24-6 record and the Class 6A state title. In 14 years at Bloomingdale, Wilken has a 221-123 record with a state runnerup finish in 2014.

Jon Hudson, Mosley, Class 5A Coach of the Year

Led his team to a 27-5 record and the Class 5A state title. In six years at the school, Hudson has a 121-30 record with

a state runnerup finish in 2016.

Brian Campbell, North Broward Prep, Class 4A Coach of the Year

Campbell led his team to a 21-10 record and the Class 4A state title. In 14 years at NBP, Campbell has a 206-165 record with Final Four appearances in 2011 and 2014.

Scott Grove, The First Academy, Class 3A Coach of the Year

Grove led his school to a 31-1 record and the Class 3A state title. In eight years at The First Academy he has a 156-51 record. His overall record in 23 years is 490-82, including stops at Timber Creek and Colonial.

Mike Mathews, Out-of-Door Academy, Class 2A Coach of the Year

In his first year as head coach at Out-of-Door Academy, Mathews led his squad to a 24-3 record and the Class 2A state championship.

Final voting numbers by class listed below:

Class 7A

Player School Points

Sean Hermann Durant 94

Brandon Neely Spruce Creek 68

Roman Anthony Stoneman Douglas 47

Coach School Points

Todd Fitz-Gerald Stoneman Douglas 184

Matt Cleveland Spruce Creek 102

Joe Weber Columbus 36

Class 6A

Player School Points

Cody Carwile Fleming Island 100

Jack Owens Bloomingdale 54

Adrian Quinonez Miami Springs 48

Coach School Points

Kris Wilken Bloomingdale 177

Grant Bigilin Fleming Island 100

Alex Morales Dwyer 45

Class 5A

Player School Points

Andrew Ildefonso Archbishop McCarthy 87

Jaden Rudd Mosley 72

William Hagen Eau Gallie 47

Coach School Points

Jon Hudson Mosley 180

Jason Hamilton Cardinal Gibbons 96

Spencer Nunez Jefferson 39

Class 4A

Player School Points

Deric Fabian North Marion 104

Ryan Brown Santa Fe 70

Erick Garcia Mater Lakes 42

Coach School Points

Brian Campbell North Broward Prep 169

Dale Hall North Marion 115

Brandon Derespiris Nature Coast Tech 60

Class 3A

Player School Points

Isaac Sewell The First Academy 130

Sal Stewart Westminster Christian 111

Jackson Baumeister Bolles 102

Coach School Points

Scott Grove The First Academy 190

Emil Castellanos Westminster Christian 120

Mike Boswell Bolles 52

Class 2A

Player School Points

Logan Tribble Out-of-Door Academy 81

Eric Fernandez Riviera Prep 74

Josh Cone Out-of-Door Academy 71

Coach School Points

Mike Mathews Out-of-Door Academy 170

Lucas St. Johns Country Day 146

Jason Sanders Mount Dora Christian 47

Class 1A

Player School Points

Justen Crews Newberry 113

Luke Ridley Newberry 113

Bryson Howard Chipley 66

Coach School Points

Mike Spina Newberry 170

Andy Compton Chipley 101

Kodi Russ Holmes County 52

Enjoying our local sports coverage? Get Mike Ridaught's twice weekly sports newsletter in your inbox.
Sports Newsletter Form
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments