Incumbents Arreola and Ward prevail in Gainesville municipal elections

Despite the COVID-19 pandemic that has gripped the nation, Gainesville voters spoke loud and clear on who they wanted on their city commission. Incumbents David Arreola and Harvey Ward Jr. scored big victories in their elections. Arreola (for Seat #3) claimed 3,423 votes (59%) to defeat challenger Jennifer Reid, who had 2,362 votes (41%). Ward (Seat#2) received 4,974 votes (68%), easily outdistancing his challenger David Walle, who had 2,354 votes (32%).

 In the At-Large Seat #2 election, Reina L. Saco narrowly avoided a runoff, but defeated former city commissioner Scherwin Henry with 11,351 votes (50.91%). Henry's 7,019 (31.48%) gave him the second place finish, followed by Paul Rhodenizer with 2,795 votes (12.5%), and Gabe H. Kaimowitz with 1,132 votes (5.08%). Saco will succeed Commissioner Helen Warren, who was term-limited from running for her seat.

 For Arreola, it was a similar outcome to his 2017 victory when he received 2,072 votes (66.45%) to defeat Craig Carter, who had 1,045 votes.

Get The Latest News

Don't miss our top stories every weekday in your inbox.

In Article Newsletter Form

 Ward, on the other hand, had more a decisive outcome than 2017, when he claimed 2,261 votes (50.74%), barely avoiding a runoff against challengers Perry Lawson, and Sheryl Eddie.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments