Trenton’s Allaire finishes 6th for POY, Miss Softball announced

Trenton's Addison Allaire finished sixth in the the Florida Dairy Farmers 2024 Miss Softball voting.
Trenton's Addison Allaire finished sixth in the the Florida Dairy Farmers 2024 Miss Softball voting.
Photo by C.J. Gish

For the third straight year, the Class 6A Softball Player of the Year has won the award given to the top overall softball player in the Sunshine State.

Following balloting by a statewide panel of high school softball coaches and prep media members, senior pitcher Jayden Heavener of Pace High School has been named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2024 Miss Softball.

The LSU signee led the nationally ranked Patriots (28-2) to the FHSAA Class 6A state title by posting a 0.44 ERA while striking out 322 batters and issuing only 28 walks in 142 innings pitched.

Become A Member

Mainstreet does not have a paywall, but pavement-pounding journalism is not free. Join your neighbors who make this vital work possible.

Heavener, who only allowed nine earned runs this season while throwing 19 shutouts and 11 no-hitters, also batted .434 with six doubles, 12 home runs and 35 runs batted in.

Katelynn Oxley of Bartow (2023) and Jasmine Francik of Melbourne (2022) previously won the award, and Heavener, Oxley and Francik finished 1-2-3 in this year’s Class 6A Player-of-the-Year voting.

With 170 points and 17 of the 18 first-place votes, Heavener finished ahead of Class 4A POY Skylar Cloud of Eustis.

Trenton freshman pitcher Addison Allaire, the Class 1A POY, received the other first-place vote.

Allaire, who finished sixth in the voting, led the Tigers to the Class 1A state championship with a 13-2 record and a 0.99 ERA with 213 strikeouts in 99 innings pitched.

She also hit .397 with seven home runs, 31 runs scored and 33 runs batted in.

Her coach, Clint Anderson, also received a first-place vote and finished sixth in the voting for the overall Coach of the Year.

Anderson, who was previously named the 1A COY, led the Tigers to a 23-2 record and a state title in his third year as head coach.

Lexi Alexander of Pace High School was named the Florida Dairy Farmers 2024 Softball Coach of the Year.

In her second year as Pace’s head coach, Alexander and the Patriots avenged a 5-1 loss to Bartow in the 2023 state title game with a 2-0 win in this year’s championship game.

She received eight of the 18 first-place votes and 119 points to finish ahead of Class 4A COY Brittany Beall of Eustis.

The Florida Dairy Farmers High School Sports Awards program exemplifies Florida Dairy Farmers’ commitment to the state’s youth. This is the 32nd year of these unique awards as we honor the state’s top athletes and coaches in FHSAA sanctioned and recognized sports.  The program also emphasizes to young people the importance of keeping dairy products a primary part of their diet in their overall nutrition plan.

Area players in bold

(Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis)

Player, Total Point, (1st _Place Votes)                                      

Jayden Heavener, Pace,170 (17)                      

Skylar Cloud, Eustis, 57                                           

Zoe Aziguirre, Evangelical Christian, 51                                         

Riley Little, Parrish Community, 48                                        

Arlette Caravaca, Western, 31

Addison Allaire, Trenton, 22 (1)                      

Nevaeh Williams, Montverde, 17                                          

Past Miss Softball Winners:

1993 – Jodi Hughes, Palmetto (Fast Pitch)

            Mary Babb, Barron Collier (Slow Pitch)

1994 – Jean Bonnici, Naples

1995 – Monica Triner, East Bay

1996 – Michelle Moschel, Naples

1997 – Kellie Wilkerson, Jacksonville Mandarin

1998 – Jennifer Gladding, Martin County

1999 – Jennifer Joiner, Bell

2000 – Claire Sua, St. Thomas Aquinas

2001 – Julie Henneke, Sickles

2002 – Erin Horn, Tallahassee Leon

2003 – Stacey Stevens, Gainesville Buchholz

2004 – Allison Kime, Valrico Bloomingdale

2005 – Dani Hofer, Palm Harbor University

2006 – Kelsi Dunne, Port Orange Spruce Creek

2007 – Kelsi Dunne, Port Orange Spruce Creek

2008 – Kelly Saco, Miami Palmetto

2009 – Erin Schuppert, Neptune Beach Fletcher

2010 – Kasey Fagan, Dunnellon

2011 – Emily Sanders, Bartow

2012 – Shelby Turnier, Palm Beach Gardens

2013 – Stephanie Texeira, Gulliver Preparatory School

2014 – Korina Rosario, West Florida

2015 – Morgan White, Ocala Forest

2016—Lauren Mathis, West Orange

2017 – Ally Muraskin, Coral Springs Charter

2018 – Lexi Kilfoyl, Academy at the Lakes

2019 – Lexi Kilfoyl, Academy at the Lakes

2020 – No Winner Named

2021 – Darian Ingram, Trenton

2022 – Jasmine Francik, Melbourne

2023 – Katelynn Oxley, Bartow

(Points awarded on a 10-7-5 basis)

Coach, Total Points (1st Place Votes)                                                      

Lexi Alexander, Pace, 119 (8)                         

Brittany Beall, Eustis, 87 (2)                          

Erin Spivey, Parrish Community, 66 (4)                           

John Bradshaw, Western, 51 (3)                           

Johnny Manetta, Evangelical Christian, 24                                                   

Clint Anderson, Trenton, 20 (1)                          

Kahley Armstrong, Montverde, 10                                                    

Past Softball Coaches of the Year:

1993 – Jean King, Niceville (Slow Pitch)

            Marilyn Bevetta, Ridgewood (Fast Pitch)

1994 – Robert Iamurri, Naples

1995 – Leslie Black, Cardinal Mooney

1996 – Robert Iamurri, Naples

1997 – Mike Clamon, Bloomingdale

1998 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep

1999 – Bryan Baucom, St. Thomas Aquinas

2000 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep

2001 – Mark Schusterman, Gulliver Preparatory

2002 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow

2003 – Becker Downie, Miami Palmetto

2004 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow

2005 – Chuck Poetter, Palm Harbor University

2006 – Glenn Rutenbar, Bartow

2007 – Kathy Finnucan, Trinity Prep

2008 – Coy Adkins, Wewahitchka

2009 – Kevin Fagan, Dunnellon

2010 – Kevin Fagan, Dunnellon

2011 – Danny Hensley, Niceville

2012 – Mark Schusterman, Gulliver Preparatory

2013 – Bryan Baucom, St. Thomas Aquinas

2014 – Amanda Schuerman, Bloomingdale

2015 – Melinda Wyatt, Tate

2016 – Todd LaNeave, West Orange

2017 – Christina Thompson, Orange Park Oakleaf

2018 – Mark Montimurro, Coral Springs Charter

2019 – Mark Huaman, Winter Springs

2020 – No Winner Named

2021 – T.J. Goelz, Lakewood Ranch

2022 – Lindsay Ingram, Deltona

2023 – Erin Spivey Parrish Community

Enjoying our local sports coverage? Get Mike Ridaught's twice weekly sports newsletter in your inbox.
Sports Newsletter Form
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments