Breaking News: Cammack heading to Congress; Clemons returning to Legislature

Republicans Kat Cammack and Chuck Clemons took different paths this election cycle, but both prevailed in tonight’s general election.

Cammack will head to Washington and the US House of Representatives after a resounding victory over first-time candidate Adam Christensen in the Florida 3rd Congressional District race. She succeeds her former boss Ted Yoho, who was a four-term Congressman and held the seat for eight years. Cammack was Yoho’s deputy chief of staff before he announced his retirement in 2020.

Cammack received 218,785 votes (57.02%), easily outdistancing Christensen, a 26-year-old small business owner, Gainesville resident, and the Democratic nominee, who received 164,892 votes (42.98%).

Become A Member

Mainstreet does not have a paywall, but pavement-pounding journalism is not free. Join your neighbors who make this vital work possible.

Florida-District 3, which is traditionally Republican, includes Alachua, Clay, Bradford, Union and parts of Marion Counties. 

Clemons’ path to victory was not as wide. The incumbent Republican edged his opponent Kayser Enneking, the Democratic challenger, with 48,626 votes (51.12%), while she received 46,495 votes (48.88%).

It was the second straight cycle that District 21 has been a nail biter, the second time Clemons has sweated-out a narrow victory, and the second time Enneking has lost a narrow election.

In 2018, Clemons won the District, which includes parts of Alachua, Dixie, and Gilchrist Counties, with 39,982 votes (51.4%) to defeat Democrat Jason Haeseler, who received 37,764 (48.6%).

That same year, Enneking, a UF Health physician and anesthesiology professor, lost the Florida Senate District 8 election to Keith Perry. In that race, Perry received 100,690 votes (49.4%), while Enneking received 98,692 votes (48.4%).

Alachua County Commission Results:

Seat #1:

Raemi Eagle-Glenn (Rep) 50,725 (37.21%)

winner – Mary Alford (Dem) 85,610 (62.79%)

Seat #3

winner – Anna Prizzia (Dem) 82,397 (60.37%)

Joy Glanzer (Rep) 54,090 (39.63%)

High Springs City Commission:

Seat #1:

winner – Ross Ambrose 1,336 (38.11%)

Sharon Decker 1,175 (33.82%)

Janet Evans 963 (27.72%)

Seat #2:

winner – Gloria James 1,333 (38.11%)

Zachary Walter 1,266 (36.19%)

Katherine S. Weitz 899 (25.7%)

These are breaking results and will be updated as more details are known.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments